skip to content

2017 Derbyshire County Council local election

Etherow division

This election was held on Thursday 4 May 2017.

4 candidates stood in the Etherow division.

In some areas, local government is split between a county council and a district council. On 4 May 2017 you will elect your county councillor(s) in a first past the post election. Your county council is responsible for services across the whole county, including:

  • Education
  • Streets and roads
  • Planning
  • Fire and public safety
  • Social care
  • Libraries
  • Waste management
  • Trading standards

Separately your district council is responsible for services delivered at a local level, including:

  • Rubbish collection
  • Recycling
  • Council Tax collections
  • Housing
  • Planning applications

Your district councillors are elected in separate elections.

To vote in a local government election in England you must be:

  • 18 years of age or over on polling day
  • a British citizen, a qualifying Commonwealth citizen, or a citizen of the European Union
  • resident in the UK
  • not be subject to any legal incapacity to vote

All elections where you live

Enter your postcode to get information about elections, your candidates and where to vote.

Did you find what you were looking for?
Has this information made you more likely to vote?

What other websites/sources have you used to research the election?

Can you tell us anything more?